Crops Briefs: K-State to host Sorghum Schools at six locations around state

2012-02-07T16:20:00Z Crops Briefs: K-State to host Sorghum Schools at six locations around state Midwest Producer
February 07, 2012 4:20 pm

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Sorghum production will be the focus of the day as K-State Research and Extension hosts six in-depth Sorghum Schools in various locations around the state.

The one-day schools will cover a number of issues facing sorghum growers: profit potential; weed control strategies; and planting, fertility, insect and disease management.

The schools, sponsored by the Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission, begin with registration at 9:30 a.m. and the program at 9:45 a.m. Lunch is included. The program will wrap up by mid-afternoon.

Dates and locations include:

Feb. 15 - Burns, Community Center, 301 N. Washington.

Feb. 16 - Dodge City, Ford County Fair Building, 901 W. Park.

Feb. 17 - Mulvane, St. Michael's Catholic Church Parish Hall, 525 E. Main.

Feb. 29 - Leoti, Wichita County Community Building, Wichita Co. Fairgrounds.

March 1 - Stockton,  Harding Hall 4-H Building, Rooks County Fairgrounds.

March 6 - Concordia, Cloud County Community College, Cook Theater.

Participants are asked to register for the sorghum school of their choosing by contacting their local K-State Research and Extension office by the Monday before the school they plan to attend.

April 15 is entry deadline for Kansas Wheat Yield Contest

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Three $1,000 cash prizes and several potential bonus awards are at stake for wheat growers who enter the 2012 Kansas Wheat Yield Contest, sponsored by the Kansas Wheat Commission and Kansas Association of Wheat Growers. Corporate sponsors of the Yield Contest include: BASF, Syngenta, Monsanto, Kansas Wheat Alliance and Bayer CropScience.

The contest includes three regions: Region 1 (Western Kansas), Region 2 (Central Kansas) and Region 3 (Eastern Kansas). Entry deadline for the 2012 Wheat Yield Contest is April 15. Producers achieving the top yield receive a $1,000 cash prize and a plaque. In addition, sponsors also have cash and product prizes for winners.

For the second year in a row, contest entrants will be eligible to participate in the Quality Initiative of the Wheat Yield Contest. Each contest participant will be asked to submit a 5-pound sample of wheat from the contest field. The quality of that sample will be evaluated for quality components such as test weight, protein content, variety and kernel quality. Top scoring samples will be further tested in a quality laboratory, where a small loaf of bread will be baked. The sample with the top quality score will receive $250 in cash, sponsored by Louis Dreyfus Commodities.

The April 15 deadline gives wheat farmers an opportunity to gauge the condition of the wheat crop as it breaks dormancy. Wheat farmers who are 18 years or older from throughout Kansas are eligible to participate by enrolling a plot at least five acres in size. The fee is $50 per entry. The contest is open only to dryland fields.

More details about the 2012 Kansas Wheat Yield Contest can be found at, by requesting an information packet via e-mail at, or by writing to Kansas Wheat, 217 Southwind Place, Manhattan KS 66503.

Specialty Crop Conference is planned for Feb. 25

WASHINGTON, Kan. - Grapes to raspberries, high tunnels to marketing - all of these topics and more will be covered at a conference for specialty crop growers in Washington on Saturday, Feb. 25.

The North Central Kansas Commercial Enterprises: Production-Marketing-Management Conference, sponsored by K-State Research and Extension, is planned for Washington High School, 115 N. D St.

"This is a professional development opportunity for anyone who's either growing fruits and vegetables as a business or who is considering such an enterprise," said David Coltrain, horticulture agent with the K-State Research and Extension River Valley District. 

The conference begins with registration at 8:30 a.m., with the program starting at 8:50 a.m. The cost to attend, including lunch, is $25 if paid by Feb. 15, or $35 if paid after that date. Students may attend at a reduced rate. 

Three general session presentations:

- Direct Marketing Strategies - Mykel Taylor, K-State agricultural economist.

- Move Your Hobby Enterprise to a Business - David Coltrain, K-State River Valley Extension District agent.

- Produce Auction: Could it Work Here? - Tim Baker, University of Missouri Extension.

Participants can also attend three different breakout sessions from a choice of 20 topics. Speakers include growers, as well as university specialists and Extension agents. 

More information is available at or by contacting Coltrain at 785-325-2121 or


Nebraska Wheat Board has directorship opening

LINCOLN, Neb - A directorship appointment for District 3 of the Nebraska Wheat Utilization, Development and Marketing Board (NWB) is open for appointment by Gov. Dave Heineman. The new term will begin July 1. The filing deadline is 5 p.m. CST on June 1.

District 3 represents Deuel, Cherry, Grant, Hooker, Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith and Perkins Counties. Any producer may submit an application to the governor's office for consideration. Larry Flohr of Chappell, the current District 3 director and NWB chairman, has indicated he will seek reappointment.

To obtain an application, write to Peggy King, Staff Assistant for Boards and Commissions, Nebraska Governor's Office, State Capitol, Box 94848, Lincoln NE 68509-4848, phone 402-471-1971; or write the Nebraska Wheat Board, Box 94912, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln NE 68509, phone 402-471-2358, email


Baucus named NAWG's Wheat Leader of the Year

Senate Finance Committee Chairman and longtime agricultural advocate Sen. Max Baucus (D-Mont.) was named as the National Association of Wheat Growers' 2011 Wheat Leader of the Year.

The wheat industry's highest public service award is given annually to a member of Congress based on his or her commitment to the well-being and goals of the wheat industry.

Baucus was chosen because of his tireless support of three free trade agreements that were approved last year; his efforts to protect crop insurance within the federal budget; and his general advocacy for agricultural priorities.

Those receiving 2011 Wheat Advocate Awards included Senate Agriculture Committee Ranking Member Pat Roberts (R-Kan.). The award is given annually to members of Congress who have demonstrated support for the wheat industry above and beyond the norm. 

One of the 2011 Friend of Wheat Awards was given to Ryan Flickner of Sen. Roberts' office. The award is given annually to Congressional and administrative staff members who have demonstrated support for the wheat industry above and beyond the norm.

Briefly . . .

- Grape growers and wine makers will find ample educational opportunities, speakers and vendors during the annual Nebraska Winery and Grape Growers Forum and Trade Show March 1-3 in Kearney. Registration and other information is available at, 800-328-2851 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday or

- Marrone Bio Innovations announced that EPA has approved a label expansion for Regalia, a biofungicide that boosts plants' natural defenses to fight fungal and bacterial diseases. The label expansion includes new soil applications, instructions for yield improvement in corn and soybeans, along with additional crops and target pathogens.

Copyright 2016 Midwest Producer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick